Roofing professionals in sunny L.A. have many different concerns than those in frigid Boston, so it makes sense that the regulatory environment for roofers in different states would be similarly different. And while some aspects, such as finding roofing insurance, won’t change, other requirements can vary widely from state to state.
This is because roofers have one of the most essential jobs in the construction industry, putting in long hours of often challenging and meticulous labor. So, it should come as no surprise that the roofing industry is widely regulated. If you are looking to start your own roofing business, or you’re a roofer looking to make a move soon, we’ve compiled the following list of rules and regulations for roofers in all fifty states.
Roofing licenses in Alabama are handled by the Licensing Board for General Contractors. In addition to proving that they have successfully completed three jobs in the past years, prospective roofers will also need to pass a multi-part exam that deals with their trade, business practices, and the law. Licenses are required for residential projects that exceed $10,000 and commercial projects starting at $50,000.
In Alaska, commercial roofing professionals are required to have a $50,000 bond, workers’ compensation available, and roofing liability insurance. Alaska’s Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development is in charge of all licensing for roofers. Alaska also requires residential roofers to enroll in the Alaska Craftsman Home Program at least two years before applying for a license.
Arizona has one of the simpler licensing processes for roofers, which it requires all professionals to have for any work worth over $1,000. Besides passing a trade exam, to obtain a license in Arizona, roofers must provide the Arizona Registrar of Contractors a financial statement and show proof of insurance and workers’ compensation.
In Arkansas, all contractor licensing (roofing included) is centrally handled by the state’s Contractors Licensing Board. The board stipulates that any work totaling over an estimated $2,000 in value requires a professional license.
California’s licensing of roofers is a complex process that requires roofing professionals to receive licensing as general contractors. Getting a license requires proof of working experience in four of the last 10 years, passing a trade exam, and proof of a $15,000 surety bond. The total cost of the license itself will be approximately $530.
California also requires all roofers to have compensation insurance, even if the outfit is a sole proprietor with no other employees.
Any work that can be done for less than $500 doesn’t require a license of any sort.
Colorado has no established contractor licensing system, due to this, roofers simply require a general business license to work legally in the state.
Connecticut’s licensing environment is somewhat unique, all contractors must register with the Department of Consumer Protection. However, there is no licensing requirement specifically for roofers, instead all contractors are broken into major or minor categories. The former roofers can work on large commercial projects while the latter focus on homes.
Roofers working on projects valued in excess of $50,000 must register for a general business license with the Delaware Division of Revenue. Granting the license is incumbent on the applicant to pass an approved course for their trade and an accompanying exam.
Roofing professionals in Florida are broken into two types: certified and registered. Certified roofers can work anywhere in the sunshine state while registered roofers are restricted to their immediate locality.
Roofing professionals will need a license to practice in Georgia. To obtain their license, roofers will have to prove two completed projects from their last two years of roofing experience as well as pass an exam and be insured.
Hawaii requires a roofing license for all projects totaling more than $1,000. Before sitting for an exam, potential roofers will have to prove that they have been active in the trade in a supervisory role in four of the last ten years.
Idaho doesn’t require anything from roofing professionals other than proof of insurance and to register their business with the ICB (Idaho Contractors Board).
Illinois features a tiered licensing system for roofers that begins with a limited residential license and ends with an industrial license. Roofers must pass the residential license exam before trying for any others. Roofers will also need to show the Department of Professional
Regulation proof of insurance and a $10,000 surety bond.
There are no statewide regulations governing roofers in Indiana, so it is best to check local regulations in whatever area one may be operating in.
Contractors of any type that make more than $2,000 annually are required to register with Iowa’s DoL (Division of Labor). Licensing doesn’t require experience or an exam component, but applicants will have to show proof of unemployment insurance.
Kansas uses a certificate system instead of licensing its roofing pros. To receive a certificate, roofers will have to register with the Kansas Attorney General and show proof of worker’s compensation and roofing insurance.
Although Kentucky has no formal roofing license requirements, many professionals still choose to receive a certification from the Kentucky Roofing Contractors Association, in order to give their customers greater peace of mind.
Roofers in Louisiana hoping to work on home construction worth more than $7,500 will need to be licensed by the LSLBC (Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors). After passing an exam, roofers will have to prove they have worker’s compensation and general liability insurance plans.
Unless roofers are working with asbestos, there is no licensing requirement specifically for roof work. Those working with asbestos will want to obtain a specific asbestos abatement license from Maine’s DEP.
Contractors are not required to be licensed in Maryland, However, if the roof work in question falls under certain categories of “home improvement” a state license from the MHIC Maryland Home Improvement Commission is required. This license requires two years of relevant work experience, proof of insurance, and passing an exam.
The State Board of Building Regulations and Standards is the licensing authority for all roofers in Massachusetts. Roofers will want a construction supervisor’s license, this will require proof of three years of work experience, passing an exam, and choosing between a restricted or unrestricted license. The former license limits jobs to one or two-family homes.
A roofing license in Michigan is granted by the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. Obtaining a license requires completing 60 hours of approved coursework and passing an exam.
Roofing pros in Minnesota who make more than $15,000 are required to be licensed. The Department of Labor will issue licenses to roofers who pass an exam, show proof or roofing insurance and post a $15,000 surety bond.
The upper limit for work that requires a roofing license in Mississippi is $10,000, after which point a roofer must pass a trade, business, and law exam, show proof of insurance, and financial soundness to obtain the requisite license.
There are no state-level regulations governing roofers or contractors, so be sure to check locally before starting any work, as rules can vary widely between locations.
While there is no license requirement, all contractors and subcontractors must register with Montana’s DLI (Department of Labor and Industry). Sole-proprietors with no additional employees may choose to register, but are not required to.
The rules that govern all contractors also apply to roofers in Nebraska. This means that before work is done, roofing outfits will be required to register with the Nebraska Department of Labor.
The specific license required for roofers in Nevada is a c-15a Roofing Contractors License. This will be issued by Nevada’s State Contractors Board when a contractor has proven they have four years of experience in the last decade, financial soundness, and proof of a bond.
Like some other states listed here, New Hampshire only requires a license for roofers that will be working with asbestos.
New Jersey has no regulatory system specifically for licensing roofers, but all contractors that operate within the state are required to register with state agencies such as the New Jersey Division of Consumer Protection or the DOBI.
Roofers with two years of experience may obtain a roofing license in New Mexico, which is required to work in the state.
New York is another state that has no overarching regulations for roofers, this means checking local regulations is essential.
Any jobs worth more than $30,000 will require a roofing contractor license from North Carolina’s Licensing Board for General Contractors. Pre-approval to take the exam is required. Outfits will also have to show they have the funds to complete the projects they want to bid on.
Roofers working on projects worth more than $4,000 are required to carry a license issued by the state that comes in four separate classes. Additional requirements include proof of insurance and a workers’ compensation program.
Any roofing licensing requirements for Ohio are handled at the local level.
There is no state-wide roofing license in Oklahoma. Instead, roofers may acquire a contractor registration by showing proof of insurance for both workers’ comp and general liability.
Oregon requires all licensed roofers to undergo training, show proof of insurance, and pass an exam before they can work.
Pennsylvania is another entry without state-wide regulations, as always, be sure to check local regulations!
Rhode Island requires its roofers to be licensed. This means they must pass an exam and take ten hours of educational courses in their trade yearly. In addition, roofers are required to show proof of insurance and be bonded.
Unless you focus specifically on the roofing of residences, you won’t need a license to roof in South Carolina. Any business must still be registered with South Carolina’s LLR (Labor, Licensing, and Regulation Department).
Licensing work is handled by localities in South Dakota, not by the state government.
Any project worth more than $25,000 requires a license. Tennessee requires all roofers to pass a multi-part exam, show proof of financial stability, and have insurance.
Many roofers in Texas choose to take part in the Roofing Contractors Associations (optional) registration process, as there are no state-level regulations for roofers in the state.
Utah requires all contractors (roofing professionals included) to be licensed and to pass exams, show proof of insurance, and have four years of work (roofing) experience.
Check local regulations before working in Vermont, no state-wide rules govern the industry.
The Virginia Board of Contractors offers licenses for roofers in the commonwealth that are broken into three classes based on monetary value:
- Class A: A license that allows work on projects worth up to $10,000.
- Class B: Once obtained, allows the holder to work on projects with a maximum value of $120K.
- Class C: An unlimited license.
There is no statewide license for roofing in Washington, however, businesses are still required to register with the state.
All construction workers require work permits in West Virginia. These permits can be obtained by passing a multi-disciplinary test and showing proof of workers’ compensation.
Wisconsin is another state that only requires roofers to be licensed specifically if they will be dealing with asbestos abatement.
Wyoming doesn’t require a roofing license to work in the state. Still, be sure to check all local rules and regulations before beginning a project.
Roofing Licenses Protect Businesses Futures
Even for those that are planning on working in a state that doesn’t require a license to do roofing work, obtaining a supplemental certification may still be a good idea. This is because, after workers’ compensation and roofing insurance, being fully licensed is the best way to grow and protect a business. Not only will becoming licensed ensure that a roofing contractor has done things the right way but becoming licensed will help give customers peace of mind as well.